Those who know me know how much I look anything cyberpunk. Those who know me also know how much of a retro aesthetic nerd I am. When those two things come together, they instantly have my attention. I mean, I bought VA-11 HallA at full price on Steam last year when it released! I couldn’t wait for a sale LOL.

2017-02-21-19_54_15
Absolutely stunning!

Now, fast forward to today and the Xbox E3 conference finally showcased what the then named Scorpio (official name Xbox One X) can do. As expected, the impressive tech under the hood was flaunted in 4K with titles such as Assassin’s Creed: Origins, Forza Motorsport 7 and the new Bioware title, Anthem, shown off to the delight of many.

TheLastNight_01

What caught my eye though was Odd Tale’s The Last Night! It checks my love for cyberpunk Sci-Fi when it meets 16-bit era-style graphics. It is such a beauty to behold and I am very eager to see more of it and eventually playing it.

Music to my ears (description of an early version of the game):

This is a short, moody, cyberpunk adventure game in the spirit of Flashback & Blade Runner. Made in 6 days by two young brothers living in Paris : Tim Soret & Adrien Soret. Original music & sound design by Laurent Lozano. Additional tracks by Chemise & Scratch Massive.

It has been in development for quite some time and the original draft can be played here. Check it out if you can. Overall, I think the Xbox conference was good. I was not as wowed as last year but it was not a bad conference. I legit think Anthem looks great and I hope it lives up to its presentation.

I think the price is high but for what it can do and what it is marketed as (a high-end premium MP3 Player  console), it is expected to be pricey. That’s just me though, I have seen some people on Twitter and NeoGAF perfectly fine with the price.

The entirety of the conference can be watched on YouTube. I’ll leave with you some screens you can use for your desktop wallpaper or whatever and the trailer for The Last Night. Mex out.